google-site-verification: googlef23fb89b32eea74b.html google-site-verification: googlef23fb89b32eea74b.html

reviews of Alpnhaus and Singdean Suite

We aren’t on tripadvisor, or any of the other big sites, so these are reviews written by our guests at Singdean. You can also see some here on the Sawdays website. 

IMG 1370

Every now and then in life you stumble on a jewel, this place is a diamond.

We wanted a place of total relaxation and Alpnhaus delivered in bucket loads. The accommodation is 1st class and the hospitality too. Christa and Del are the perfect hosts; there when you need them but blending into the background when you don’t. 

We will be back for sure

M and D, November 2018


We are celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary in this very special place, We are passionate about the Alps, spending every summer climbing and walking there. Alpnhaus transports us to our favourite place, the scents, the fabrics and grain of wood filling us with memories and joy.

I enjoyed reading the overwhelmingly positive comments in this journal. I hope Christa and Del take time to enjoy them too and take pride in what they have created here. This doesn’t happen by chance, but rather hard work, desire and drive, I hope the feedback inspires and keeps the flames burning. We will be back.

G and C, November 2018


Amazing place - you’ve done an incredible job and created a beautiful experience. We got engaged here and so will have extra special memories of our stay!

A and C, November 2018


Thank you for being so nice when we arrived late and a bot dazed after our wedding! We loved the tranquility, the breakfast and all the Alpine smells and of course the hot tub. We would love to come and stay again and recommend you all over the place.

S and H, November 2018


Thank you for a lovely 40th birthday weekend where we felt complete.

M and M, November 2018


Almost from the moment we arrived, we started planning our next stay. 

We have enjoyed a wonderfully restorative couple of days, taking in the atmosphere of please and calm, a real antidote to the stresses of working life. We arrived with plans to star gaze and have been thwarted by the weather; however we have had no sense of disappointment - sitting in the hot tub in the rain was just what we needed - and to feel so snug afterwards. It’s been great.

J and J, November 2018


We cannot thank you enough for our stay here. Truly magical.

We have been forced to be relaxed and we have loved it! We hope to return and can’t wait to spread the word of this fantastic stay. Thank you for having the best style and taste.

Keep doing what you are doing please.

L and L, November 2018


Having noticed Singdean a couple of years ago, enticed by your website, we were determined to come when we could. Our overnight retreat has been far too short but we have been charmed by everything here - the welcome, the lovely room and facilities (including the pampering sauna and tub, a real treat!) the peace and tranquility, the dark sky and a sense of being in the midst of Borders History (the documented research is intriguing) and the unobtrusive hospitality. 

A delightful place to which we will return.

T and L, Berwick upon Tweed, October 2018


There is a magical stillness to Singdean.

One that calms the busy mind and refuels the aching soul.

Thank you Christa and Del, you are the perfect hosts and congratulations on your relaxing and tranquil retreat.

….until next time

C and M, Leeds, October 2018


The perfect retreat away from the stresses of everyday life. We’ve thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at SIngdean. The sauna and the hot tub have melted away our aches and we feel totally relaxed. There’s something magical about sitting in a hot tubbing the rain and thinking ‘it just doesn’t matter!’

Thank you Christa and Del for a much needed rest

J and M,Otley, October 2018


Our friends bought us this weekend away as our wedding present. WOW! This has been the most amazing weekend away enjoying each others company. You have thought about absolutely everything - a real treat for the senses. The wonderful smells, the comfiest bed, the views and the most relaxing time in the hot tub - thank you! 

We are already planning our next weekend here….maybe the next anniversary.

See you soon

K and C, Glasgow, September 2018



What a lovely child free break away. Never thought I would enjoy being so off grid. No signal or internet and it hasn’t bothered me once.

Sauna and hot tub were lovely in a beautiful setting.

Thank you so much for a relaxing care free break. Have taken plenty of pictures to share with friends, you may have a rush of bookings.

F and P, September 2018


Booking Singdean after seeing my friends pictures and boy am I so glad we did. Everything about our experience was amazing from start to finish. The travel down from Glasgow was a little hairy due to the extreme rainfall so having 2 chilled beers waiting for us in the fridge was a real treat. 

The outdoor hot tub and sauna were ready and our evenings were sorted. Nothing more chilled, romantic and unique than drinking champagne in the hot tub under the most starry skies. Fantastic.

Del and Christa are excellent hosts and made our stay an amazing experience. A real home from home. Breakfast was a delight and plentiful. The little birds were cute too.]I will certainly recommend SIngdean to friends and family and whoever else listens.

L and W, Glasgow, September 2018


Christa and Del, we don’t even know where to begin! SIngdean is the most magical place. This was the perfect escape after our wedding day. Such crazy lives at home, it has been wonderful to escape the world and just enjoy each others company.

We have loved our stay and are both sad to be leaving. We will definitely be back. Thank you for creating such a beautiful place and for all your hospitality and kindness.

J and K, Newcastle, August 2018



WOW! Just wow. We have had a fabulous stay here at Alpnhaus. We are looking forward to our next stay already! Especially loved the late night hot tubs : ) and the amazing breakfasts : )

S and S, August 2018


Thank you for another fabulous stay at Singdean. Alpnhaus us everything we knew it would be. Beautifully decorated with your unique style and every detail thought about. We loved sitting on the veranda watching the birds and ever changing weather. No owl sightings this time but fingers crossed for next time! 

We can’t wait to come again (7th visit)! Lots of love,

C and C,  August 2018


Such an amazing place, we’ve had a fabulous time! Not lucky enough to see the owl, just means we’ll have to come back! Thank you Christa and Del

J and M, August 2018


Such a gorgeous place! Was a lovely relaxing stay, all the little touches make Alpnhaus so special. Thank you : )

C and R, August 2018


Love it, love it, love it. What more can we say.

Christa and Del, what a find you both have got, honestly this place is totally amazing. It truly is. What work, deign, your amazing taste. I want you to design my home…such talent, it’s breath taking. We could live here, just fine.

I could smell the coffee this morning in the woods, it brought a tear to my eye, the simplicity was so surreal.

Your lovely shop bought my breath away - gobsmacked.

Breakfast was something else too - didn’t think of food until late afternoon.

Sitting thinking when can I come back, I’ll certainly be telling everyone I know about this place, that’s for sure. xxx

S and L, August 2018



We have enjoyed a magical experience during our stay at Singdean this weekend. The accommodation exceeded expectations! Relaxing, elegant and in a perfect location. The essential oils and fragranced bedding added to the wonderful comfortable accommodation. Breakfast was delicious and incredibly filling. We will be sure to recommend Singdean to our family and friends and can’t wait to return. Thank you for the amazing hospitality.

D and N, August 2018


This is our 2nd visit to Singdean. We can’t wait to have a 3rd. As in all the comments, fantastic location, wonderful wildlife. A great place to get off grid and recharge the batteries. Thank you very much to our delightful hosts Del and Christa. You make the place come alive with your warm welcome and hosting. We will be back.

B and L, July 2018


Truly remarkable and enchanting location. We were mesmerised by the house martins and the spectacular views….Scotland is sooooo beautiful. 

No wifi - at forst I was a bit at a loss with this. However I soon realised that it is all part of the complete relaxing atmosphere that Del and Christa have magically created,,,,whatever did we do before internet and computers? “Communicate" I guess!!! ; )

The little touches and attention to detail is fabulous and the decor is fantastic, I wandered around the shop 2 or 3 times and kept finding wee gems I’ve never seen before! I will be making a purchase although my husband doesn’t know yet.

Breakfast was simply the best. Our dogs were given the most fabulous welcome, as were we. We leave with fantastic memories and totally recharged batteries hoping to return next year to do it all again, will try the cabin next time. Thank you xx

G and D, July 2018


Maravillosa hospitalidad los duenos son muy queridos y acogedores. Muchos gracias. Jamas olvidaremosestos gratos momentos.

G, Colombia, July 2018


We have had an amazing pre honeymoon break. Alpnhaus is spectacular down to the smallest detail. Del and Christa have done a fabulous job yet again! Hope to see you again very soon!

C and C, July 2018


We have had a wonderful stay. This location is stunning and Alpnhaus is beautifully crafted. We have enjoyed the peace, tranquility and FAB breakfasts! Thank you for your hospitality, we will be back.

B and B, July 2018


A wonderful hidden gem, we feel like we’ve been away in the Alps for a week after just 2 nights here!

Thank you for looking after us and spoiling us - breakfasts were incredible!

We’re very reluctant to leave but will be back for sure in the Winter time. All the best

J, R and Bo, East Yorkshire, July 2018


Such an unbelievably beautiful place, down to the last detail. We’ve had such an amazing stress free and peaceful break and we really can’t wait to visit again. Breakfast was delicious every morning and your hospitality was fantastic, we were made to feel at home. Thank you for everything.

M and H, July 2018


We had such a lovely stay. You truly have created a beautiful place which was the perfect escape from everyday life. From the book nook to bird watching in the hot tub, we have loved every minute. Thank you for everything, we can’t wait to come back again

M and T, July 2018


Thank you for everything and your hospitality during our stay. It was a pleasure to be able to stay at Alpnhaus so soon after it opened. It is truly an amazing and dreamy getaway. The breakfast was amazing every morning! We enjoyed watching the birds from our window and enjoyed the hot tub every evening. We’ll be back for sure.

S and C, June 2018


Beautiful place for a relaxing break away from the city. The chalet is so pretty and the breakfast was delicious! We loved watching the birds and the dogs enjoyed it too! Thank you

F and D, Edinburgh, June 2018


What a fantastic space you’ve created here. Alpnhaus is truly breathtaking, filled with character, charm and the most pleasant of scents - it’s only to fitting as part of Singdean. This dreamlike place is honestly bliss. Thank you for everything

D and K. Glasgow, May 2018


Than you so much for our relaxing stay at Singdean. It has brought back many happy memories for Irving. We hope to return back soon and stay in your lovely cabin. Thanks again, all the very best.

S and I. Corby, Northamptonshire, May 2018


This is our second stay at Singdean and we will be back for a 3rd! It’s difficult to find anything to say that hasn’t already been said - beautiful setting, fantastic hosts, unique lodge and all round relaxing and rejuvenating experience - we love this place! Thank you and all the best

H and M, Darlington, Co. Durham. May 2018


Singdean joins our list of ‘special places’, alongside a tree house on Big Sur and a beach front lodge in Golden Bay, NZ.

Our stay as part of R’s 60th birthday trip has been great. Good walking nearby, a challenging cycle around Kielder Lake and a visit to Jedburgh.

We’ve enjoyed talking to Del and Christa about their great adventure and seeing the new ‘Alpnhaus’ - maybe we’ll stay there one day!

Our last evening we saw and heard a ‘woodcock’ cycling overhead and later picked out some stars and constellations - magical!

A great start to the Scottish leg four trip

R and S, and G, Kent. May 2018


Magnifique!! Once again, a fabulous stay in the most serene place on earth. Our 2nd visit and we can assure its won’t be our last. Words can’t explain the beauty or the experience that Singdean gives you. Thanks again. 

*WE JUST LOVE THIS PLACE*

K, W and F April 2018


We have had the most restful and peaceful time. Thank you for all the extra thought you have put into our comfort. Cost and comfortable furnishings, fresh flowers, fabulous breakfast.

The sauna and hot tub have been idyllic. Even Nemo, our very naughty border terrier has been relaxed, calm and even (dare we say it) well-behaved. Thank you for making such a fuss of him too.

I couldn’t have wished for a more fabulous anniversary present from my husband. We need to come back - so much more to see and do. Thank you Christa and Del, it has been truly lovely

G, A and N, Kent. April 2018


A wonderful Christmas present from our daughter and her partner. A retreat from everyday busy lives is exactly what it is! Throughout our one night stay, we’ve noticed incredible attention to detail - what a gift you guys have. 

Wonderful time relaxing in the sauna and hot tub listening to nature and enjoying our own company.

Great nights sleep…Great comfort with a super view of the birds feeding in the morning.

Fantastic breakfast-absolutely perfect! 10/10 : )

We will definitely be spreading the word about the wonderful retreat - everyone must visit here at least once! Many thanks Christa and Del. Lovely people with incredible vision.

L and J, Hexham, Northumberland. April 2018



Truly wonderful first stay at Singdean - every detail was thought out and it was totally geared up to promote relaxation and privacy. This was THE perfect getaway and escapism we needed from everyday life - we could have been a million miles from civilisation. 

Highlights;

Breakfast - just WOW!

Hot tub and sauna (we want one)

Spending quality time as a couple.

Thank you for having us - you were great hosts! We WILL be back : )

S and D, Teeside. April 2018


This is our 2nd stay at SIngdean and its every bit as good as the first time. Last time we came, we were treated to a sky full of stars and the hooting of owls. This time, we have been treated to snowfall as we relaxed in the hot tub!

We love every bit of this place, from the millions of squidgy cushions to the amazing (and huge) breakfast delivered through the secret door. we couldn’t ask for a more serene and [eaceful place to relax and escape from the fast paced norm. 

This magical place has stolen our hearts and we will be back again and again and again!

Thank you for your amazing hosting skills and ever warm welcome.

K and M, April 2018


We were given the gift of Singdean as a birthday present from my daughter. It’s a beautiful location and made even more special by an unexpected covering of snow. Great hosts whose attention to detail is breathtaking. And after that breakfast we won’t need to eat for 3 days! Thanks for a magical stay.

M and K, April 2018


Relaxing and spiritually cleansing. The world rebalanced. Thank you Singdean.

S and R, March 2018


Wonderful place, very relaxing, fantastic. Loving no signal or wifi - you can totally relax and escape. We were lucky with dry sunny days and had a great 3 hour walk in Hyndlee Forest. 

The sauna and hot tub was the best, with the fortunate benefits of a starry night on the 2nd night. Loved the breakfast - all our favourite things.

The sprinkling of snow around added to the Alpine feel and the new Alpnhaus was great to visit - it will be a super place to stay in future. Why go abroad when you have all this on your doorstep (well, not quite!!) Thank you so much for your hospitality , it was an enjoyable stay

R, G and L, Bristol, March 2018



Our first visit to Singdean and definitely won’t be our last. Already planning our next visit : ) This place is perfect in every way, thank you so much xxx

C and G, March 2018



We have had an amazing experience here - very relaxing. The room itself is magical. Warm and cosy with so much character. Constantly finding something different to look at. The bed is amazing - we want that mattress and duvet : ) Breakfast was very special, plenty of it too. Douglas, our shitzu enjoyed bird watching form the door. Thank you fo a relaxing stay

S and P and D, February 2018


Our first visit, what a wonderful find. Needed an escape from the real world and this was perfect. Beautiful clear Winter weather. Amazing stars from the hot tub. Perfect! Beautiful view to wake up to and delicious breakfast. Given we couldn’t get away skiing this year, this Alpine retreat was the next best!

C and T, February 2018


Another magical visit to Singdean! Del and Christa are fantastic hosts-  friendly and knowledgable. An amazing location, sitting below a blanket of stars whilst keeping warm in the hot tub, owls hooting from the woods. A lovely relaxing stay, thank you.

G and L, February 2018


Our 3rd visit and it gets better every time! This was our first Winter stay and it was the best. Sitting in the hot tub and looking at the stars was perfect. We’ll be back when Alpnhaus is finished for our fourth stay, in the Winter again! 

Thank you for the warm welcome, a wonderful stay and an amazing breakfast!

S and A, Sunderland,  February 2018


The discreet luxury that is Singdean was a perfect setting. The sauna, hot tub, the black silhouette of the trees against the starry sky was truly heaven on earth with the snowy backdrop a true bonus. Breakfast was a feast. We loved every minute. Thanks Del and Christa for a fantastic Christmas present to ourselves.

K and C, Melrose, February 2018


Just fabulous. Perfect in every way - even the weather, The snow made everything even more magical. Thank you!

C and P, Dunbar,  February 2018


We could not ask for a more romantic and relaxing place to celebrate Clare’s birthday. At every turn there is a touch of detail and style which makes Singdean a very rare and special place. We were fortunate to have a cloudless sky and were treated to an enormous starlit backdrop in the hot tub. We love the Alps and this was like our home from home. Thanks to Christa and Del for their passion and energy in making this haven.

G and C, Edinburgh, February 2018


Absolutely perfect in every way. Christa and Del are so lovely and we can’t wait to come back again soon. Everything smells amazing. We feel totally zen.

R and E, Edinburgh, February 2018


A beautiful retreat for my 50th. Every detail was taken care of except the weather, but it gave us a piece of the Alps to take solitude…a tine to reflect and a time to plan for an amazing future. Thank you.

N, February 2018


What a beautiful stay…the snow making it even more of a winter retreat. The attention to detail here is amazing, a real treat…and to be outside in the hot tub in the snow was just magical. Will be back again as we want to experience the dark skies.

Massive thank you to Christa and Del for creating such a magical place to bring my husband for his 50th!

H and N, February 2018


It is a very special place, we have had a lovely relaxing time. The skies were clear and the stars were out whilst we were soaking in the hot tub. And thank you to our hosts for making it special.

J and H and H, Ashington, February 2018


First time here and what a magical place, love it! Can’t wait to come back. Relaxing and tranquil and a perfect escape. Thank you for being wonderful hosts!

W and G, Morpeth, January 2018


Another wonderfully relaxing couple of days with a mix of weather and skies. So relaxing you forget what time is and no social media to distract you. The next time we visit it will be as husband and wife. Thank you Christa and Del for a lovely stay and fabulous breakfast and of course my gorgeous coat from the shop

J and A, Edinburgh, January 2018


Our first time at SIngdean - a Christmas present. What a special place! Thank you for making our stay so perfect. We will be back.

P and C, Newcastle, January 2018


Snow, storms, stars….We arrived in the snow and were very grateful the roads weren’t closed! What a great place to be treated by. It is truly magical, we’ll never forget the time here - happy memories to last a lifetime.

On our final night the clouds cleared briefly and the sky came to life - our wishes were answered. We leave after a gale that has blown over the bird table, hopefully the roads will still be clear! We hope to return soon….

L and C, Wiltshire, January 2018


Truly enchanting. What a magical, relaxing, amazing stay. Thank you so much

H and P, Northumberland, January 2018


This was our first time here and we can’t wait to come back already. Everything has been amazing, all the little details make it a stay we won’t forget. Christa and Del are the perfect hosts and make you feel very welcome. 

S and V, Ayr, January 2018


Thanks again Del and Christa for another fantastic stay. We say it every time we come that it’s just amazing, relaxing and just what we needed to start 2018

G and H, January 2018


Thank you for a lovely stay. The room, sauna and hot tub are totally magical and we really felt transported to another world! We will be back

J and H, December 2017


Beautiful. Thank you very much

I and J, December 2017


Our second visit to SIngdean - fantastic again! Lovely hot tub in the snow whilst star gazing is the best! We love coming here, we will be back. Christa and Del are very welcoming and provide a lovely breakfast. Thank you very much

H and F, December 2017


I first stumbled across ‘Hansel und Gretel’ in  Bath many years ago - an enchanting little shop filled with Alpine delights. I was so disappointed when it closed only to find the owners Christa and Del had moved to the Scottish Borders and opened this magnificent B and B. And how pleased I am to have finally made it up here to experience this magical alpine retreat.

What Christa and Del hace created is beyond amazing - we have absolutely loved sitting our under the start in the hot tub, enjoying the stunning views and scenery around Singdean.

All the little touches in the room are just beautiful and the breakfast ( / lunch!) is delicious.

We absolutely will be coming again - but next time we are driving rather than flying as my hand luggage is bulging at the seams with all my purchases from the shop!

Huge thanks to Christa and Del - we’ve loved every second.

G and S, Cotswolds, November


Our second visit and in the 2 years since we were last here we’re pleased to say very little has changed! We need a breaking once again, Singdean mercifully rendered all contact with the outside world useless! BLISS. It’s the first time we’ve been in the area with clear skies too -  the hot tub under the stars experience was worth the wait! We shall return…

T and J November


This was our first stay at Singdean but it won’t be our last. From the moment we arrived at dusk to our departure the following morning, we were thoroughly enchanted and charmed by this tranquil and very special place.

Christa and Del, you were wonderful hosts - the sauna and hot tub were so relaxing and the clear starry night that miraculously appeared seemed to be laid on just for us - just like the breakfast feast that magically ‘appeared’ throughout the secret door!

This truly ia an amazing place under heaven and earth and we look forward to experiencing its charms again very soon.

D and J, Rothbury. November


“So tread carefully for you walk on my dreams” Yates. I didn’t really have the words to describe SIngdean so I have used the words of someone far more eloquent.

If you could draw my dream place, Singdean would be it. The trees, the calm, the sky. Its like something I thought only existed beyond reach.

Christa and Del thank you very much for making our stay so special and wonderful. Perfect hosts in every way. I can safely say that you tread carefully and my dreams were realised. This was a perfect gift from my girlfriend for my birthday and to quote someone slightly less eloquent than Yates “I’ll be back”!

D and J, Whitley Bay, November


Our second stay at SIngdean, even more perfect that the first! Gorgeous views of the night sky with the addition of the full moon in the hot tub. The most relaxing stay for us both, just what we needed - a private getaway. The new lodge is coming on and looks great, can’t wait to see it finished! Perfect, friendly hosts as always. Gorgeous breakfast in the morning frost. Thank you again - our favourite getaway.

K and S, Newcastle, November


Another wonderful stay at SIngdean. Our favourite escape to relax. The new hot tub is great for star gazing. We had some of the best skies yet! Brilliant long walk across the forestry track looking back across the valley to Singdean. Thanks Del for coming to look for us incase we needed rescuing!

Alpnhaus is looking wonderful. It sits perfectly with the land. We can’t wait to see it finished! Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

C and C, October


The most relaxing and tranquil overnight stay. Only a short drive from Newcastle but felt like a million miles away. It was perfect and we had the best nights sleep ever followed by a yummy breakfast. We will be back and can’t wait for Alpnhaus to open. Thank you for the most relaxing break.

K and A, October


Our second visit and it was just as magical as the first time. Everything is thoroughly lovely and really well thought out. Even a few breaks in the cloud to the stars. perfect. Thank you

C and R, October


We enjoyed every single detail here. Thank you very much, to was magical!

L and D, October


Wow, most serene and tranquil setting that provided the perfect backdrop to our honeymoon. Christa and Dels hospitality is second to none.

Our Singdean experience was elevated throughout the stratosphere when we witnessed a meteor shower whilst relaxing in the hot tub. The perfect start to married life that no amount of money can buy. Can’t wait to come back

W, K and F October


A magical place, as soon as we arrived we felt any stress disappear. Christa and De; are lovely hosts. Creating a wonderful lodge with fantastic detail. The food was excellent. Thank you for making our mini moon perfect

L and G, October


What a place! From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a treat. We have never stayed somewhere so lovely, the attention to detail is very clever with the ski’s and antlers and choice of furniture really makes it. Thank you for the lovely breakfast, we both loved the eggs and porridge. We will be recommending to our friends and family! Thank you so very much 

J and J, October


This was our first visit to Singdean and it wasn’t be our last. It has been a truly wonderful experience, you really have a gem of a place. We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. It is the cosiest most comfortable place to relax. The hot tub and sauna are totally unique. Thank you

V and I, October


We came to Singdeanafter being recommended by friends and it was everything we hoped for and more. We were after relaxation in a beautiful part of the world and this certainly was that - this is one of the comfiest places we have ever been to and the sauna and hot tub are fantastic, it truly is an experience like no other. Thank you Christa and Del for a wonderful night, we will certainly be back again soon!

B and F, Hull, September


We came to Singdean for a birthday treat and what a treat it was! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay - everything here is amazing! The bed has to be the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in, it was like sleeping on a cloud.

The sauna and hot tub were both magical. The breakfast!! Love the idea of you sneaking in with all the breakfast goodies like an elf! The decor and smell of the room is amazing and creates such a relaxing, cosy space.

We visited fat lips castle - views were incredible. Also went to the observatory and although it was too cloudy to see any stars, the talks were definitely worth going for, would highly recommend.

We hope to visit again soon and will be telling everyone we know about this amazing getaway! Thanks again and best wishes,

N and M, Edinburgh, September


Can’t believe how beautiful and tranquil it is here. Perfect for a break from the rat race and young adult children. We’ll be more willing to take our daughter to uni in Glasgow in the future as it will give us the perfect excuse to stop off here on the way home. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

C and M, London, September


Our first visit to Singdean but hopefully not our last, we can’t wait to come back again soon! Thank you Christa and Del for giving us the most perfect day / night away. 

From the warm welcome to the hot tub and sauna and the delicious breakfast, the whole experience has been delightful. We spent last night star gazing from the hot tub and then had a wonderful sleep in that comfy bed. You are so lucky to call this beautiful place home….it’s like a piece of heaven. Thank you both again and good luck with th chalet. It sounds like it will be fabulous! Warm wishes,

D and M, Glasgow, September


Many thanks to Christa ad Del for a fabulous relaxing stay in amazing surroundings. Accommodation has everything you need. Will look forward to a return visit. Good luck with he new chalet however if it is anything like this it will be fantastic.

A and M, August


This fabulous experience was a treat from our children for our 25th wedding anniversary. Wow. We have loved every minute of it and want to stay but because Singdean is so fabulous, someone else is staying here tonight. We will definitely be coming back here. Thank you so much Christa and Del you have been fabulous hosts, nothing too much trouble, you have thought of absolutely everything to make this place what it is. Tranquil. Hope to see you soon

C and A, York, August


Our first visit to Singdean and definitely not our last. Beautiful Scottish countryside, lovely room, hot tub and sauna. All the little touches, like waking up to fresh coffee and a delicious breakfast in the mornings was perfect. Thanks for letting us spend our 2nd anniversary in this beautiful place.

L and S and A, Newbiggin by the Sea, August


Our visit was for my 30th birthday and what a treat it has been! Everything has been thought of and we absolutely love the decor (we may steal some ideas). The sauna and wood fired hot tub have been wonderful and we have never slept so well in the amazingly comfy bed!

The wildlife we have spotted just from the window has been an added bonus. Christa and Del have been wonderful hosts, very friendly and chatty and we felt nothing would have been too much to ask for.

N and D, West Yorks, August


We visited for our 2nd anniversary with our dog. It was the perfectly relaxing experience we had hoped for, if not more! As soon as we pulled up at this quaint little cottage, any thoughts of everyday routine were cast to the back of our minds. The attention to details such as the decor, breakfast and even food and water for our dog was amazing. We will definitely be recommending this to family and friends.

Christa and Del were the perfect hosts who were on hand for any of our needs, also generally nice people who made our stay that much more enjoyable. Thanks for a fab 2 nights and we look forward to visiting again

L and J and J, August


Hygge in a nutshell…

Thank you both for creating and sharing such a tranquil haven. It was the perfect place tp sit under the dark sky and enjoy the spectacle of the Perseids. Hot tub and shooting stars - what’s not to like?!

We both appreciated the chance to be ‘unplugged’ tuning into the bumblebees in the honeysuckle and watching the house martins darting under the eaves. The birdsong and calls were a delight - red kites and some very talkative owls at night!

We’re both grateful for all the attention to details you have put into creating a space that is so comfortable, welcoming and relaxing and we look forward to visiting again. Many thanks

J and D, Kelso, August


A few days to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. wonderfully relaxing place to unwind, drink prosecco and indulge in the sauna and hot tub. Highly recommend a moonlit dip - the water was still easily warm enough for an 10pm full moon star lit experience. Great way to unwind after mountain biking at Kielder. Thank you Christa and Del for your welcome.

N and R, Lancaster, August


My wife and i came to relax for a couple of days after our wedding and how relaxed we were! The sauna and hot tub along with all the little touches and fragrances were just perfect. Our first trip but definitely not our last! Thank you Christa and Del

M and G, August


All the entries intros book are so complimentary because the experience that Singdean offers is so unique.

The peace and tranquility suggested by the website drew us here and have certainly had a calming effect. We haven’t slept as well in a long time!

The weather has been lively for the duration of our stay so our walks and visits have not lacked atmosphere. Hermitage Castle under brooding and laden skies will live in the memory! Our walk around Kielder when the rain was prolonged and torrential at times was particularly enjoyable because we knew we had Singdean to return to. The sauna and hot tub in bright sunshine were blissfully relaxing.

We wish Christa and Del all the best with the new chalet with its many frustrations. We look forward to booking it sometime not too long in the future.

J and S, Cheltenham, July


We booked this special B and B to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary, just a week after returning from Switzerland just to sustain the Alpine feel! We enjoyed the friendly, relaxed welcome from christa and Del who really put themselves out to ensure your stay is everything you could wish for. The accommodation is comfortable, quirky and charming. Very importantly, the bed is really comfy! Also the breakfast is great and quietly served up without fuss behind the curtains….!

The location of Singdean is lovely and tranquil, with plenty of wildlife to observe, a pleasant thing to do when you are relaxing in the hot tub. Unfortunately not even Christa and Del can control the weather and we had some heavy rain! We had booked the observatory on Friday evening which was very interesting but didn’t;t see a single star. Ah well, there’s always next time. 

Many thanks to Christa and Del and all the best with the Big Chalet Build!

G and N, Hartlepool, July


Thank you Christa and Del! Our first visit but I’m sure it won’t be the last. We have enjoyed the whole wonderful experience from the beautiful decor, scenery and lovely breakfasts! The sauna and hot tub are the icing on the cake. They make it an even more magical experience. So very relaxed now but back to the real world but hope to be back. All the best with the Chalet and hope it opens on time, Looking forward to seeing git finished!

S and B, Edinburgh, July


Well, this is our 4th visit and the 2nd this year! We absolutely love love coming here to visit, always made to feel welcome. The new hot tub is hot, hot, hot!!We also loved pulling up and seeing your next adventure in motion and I have no doubt that it will be as magical as the b and b. We will be back for the grand opening! 

H and G, July


Singdean, an oasis in a busy life…the host and hostess couldn’t have made our stay any more special, from the warm welcome and attention to detail and off course the elves that prepared the delivered breakfast each morning. Our stay was perfect in every way and will definitely be back soon… Thank you again Christa and Del

C and S, Leicester, July


After a rather stressful year, I was wanting to escape entirely from the modern world and seek some much needed quiet relaxation -  and I absolutely found it. Singdean is such a beautiful little jewel in the refreshingly beatific landscape of the Scottish Borders. It feels immediately like home, and is incredibly well designed, all the of the interior details are gorgeous right down to the way it smells.

I had a fantastic and silent nights sleep in a very comfy bed and woke up to fresh coffee, birdsong and an extremely tasty and thoughtful breakfast.

The sauna and hot tub are quite simply the icing on the cake - I spent hours sitting in the rain whilst perfectly and blissfully relaxed, listening to nature. 

Lastly but most importantly, the hosts Christa and Del make you feel very at home and are very lovely people who should be so proud of the experience they provide to people here. As someone who’s working life does not give me much opportunity for quiet, the absolute silence and wonderful atmosphere were lovely! I will make this a yearly treat : )

N, Beverley, Hull, July


Our 2nd visit to the beautiful, tranquil, relaxing Singdean. We loved it as much as our first visit. Just as we remembered it, nothings changed except for the nearly built ‘chalet’ which we are looking forward to booking for next years visit. We’re sure it will be as perfect to stay in as our room here now. With Christa and Dels attention to detail and design making yet another very special place to stay. 

Had a couple of days ‘off grid’ to catch up on ourselves and celebrate our anniversary. Thank you for your hospitality once more. You’re both doing a great job here, so welcoming and friendly. We will be back, many thanks.

S and G, Lancashire, June


What a wonderful place! So relaxing, room so cosy, loved hot tub and sauna. Slept like a log… Del and Christa so welcoming, definitely be returning. Should be on everyones bucket list : )

J and M, Whitby, June


Beautiful birthday treat. Our 2nd visit here and loved it more than the first time. We will be back.

K and A June


Our first visit to Singdean and it definitely won’t be our last! From the moment of arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Your attention to detail is amazing and helped us relax and unwind from our busy lives. The hot tub and sauna were truly amazing. You’re both great hosts and we look forward to seeing you in the near future!

J and N, Co Durham, June



We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Singdean but now we have a bit of a dilemma. We want to shout from the rooftops of our wonderful experience here but at the same time we don’t want it to be overbooked for when we decide to return! You have made us feel so very welcome and have made celebrating our silver wedding anniversary so much more special. We honestly couldn’t ask for anything more (OK, maybe a bit of sun but we’ll try next time!) Again many thanks for you hospitality Christa and Del and hope to see you again. All the best

T and N, South Tyneside, June



Our 4th visit to Singdean and we can honestly say we never tire of visiting here. It has been great to come and witness the construction of ‘The Chalet’ and we are really looking forward to returning to stay there! As warm a welcome as ever from Christa and Del, the best nights sleep, the loveliest breakfasts and the fab hot tub and sauna make Singdean a perfect place for a break. George the dog feels quite at home now too! Thank you Christa and Del yet again for a lovely stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!

E and A and G, May



Thank you for an amazing stay! We fell in love with the place as soon as we arrived. Every detail of Singdean has been made with such love and thoughtfulness and that is felt. Thank you for being such lovely hosts, we will be back next year!

J and C, Whitley Bay, May



Where to start…Thank you so much Del and Christa for providing us with the most tranquil and relaxing mini break anyone could ask for. From the moment we arrived and were greeted so warmly it was very obvious we were going to enjoy every moment. Walking to the room we were astounded by the attention to detail; everything Alpine and more. We were made to feel so welcome it helped to de-stress and forget about the everyday grind.

The sauna and hot tub were an incredible experience, fairy lights, nature, the sound of silence, who could ask for more. A brilliant way to unwind in magnificent surroundings.

We feel sad that we are leaving but have been sent away with the most incredible Alpine breakfast which reminded me so much of Austria; meat, cheese, porridge to die for and the perfect toast.

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your prefect home, we will surely be back (sooner rather than later hopefully). A wonderful experience with special memories made.

R and T, May



A magical 2 night stay on our way back to Manchester from Dornoch. We will be back. You have created a warm, welcoming and wonderful place to stay. Calm. Tranquil. Relaxing. And we were able to enjoy super weather during the day and clear nights. Hoping to create some of the sense of the place by buying up half the stock in the shop next door!

M and S, April


Wow - what a wonderful place! It is absolutely beautiful and everything is so cosy and tactile. And what an amazing experience to sit in the hot tub under a clear incredibly starry sky. Hope we may visit again

D and S, April


Stayed on the way back from my sisters wedding as my sister told me it was her favourite place and she knew I’d love it. The perfect place to relax after a busy weekend! Sunning views. Amazing hot tub and sauna. Great secluded location. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast. Hopefully we’ll get to visit again sometime, we’d definitely recommend!

C and D, March


Just came back from a week abroad and wanted something special for our last night before going back to reality. Well, Singdean couldn’t have been more perfect. The suite was cosy and warm with a delightfully comfy bed. All the little touches just made it extra special. The sauna and hot tub are magnificent. It really is something amazing in a beautiful location. Thank you for such a lovely stay and we hope it won’t be the last.

N and L, March


This was our 2nd visit and we loved it just as much as the first time. We’ve had 4 seasons in one stay. Sun, fog, rain and snow - and it all adds to the experience.

Very buzz word at the moment, the the Danish word ‘hygge’ could definitely have been invented for Singdean. Meik Wiking has written a book about it all and he says it’s ‘about an experience and an atmosphere rather than about things. it is about being with people we love. A feeling that we are safe, that we are shielded from the world and that we allow ourselves to let our guard down’ If that is so, then Singdean is Hygge.Thanks in a large part to Christa and Dels easy warmth and welcoming hospitality. . Thank you both and can’t wait to come back again.

S and I,  February


A surprise for my husbands birthday and we have had an amazing time. Away from the hustle and bustle and time to relax and just enjoy being ‘us’. Only thing I’d change is the fog! But a great excuse to come again. Hot tub and sauna was a lovely way to spend a few hours.

Thank you for a lovely stay

L and P, Newcastle upon Tyne, February


This was bought for us as a gift and it has been just amazing. really wish we could stay for longer! Feel we experienced Singdean at a magical time with ll the snow. Sitting in an amazing hot tub with snow falling is very surreal!

Can't fault the place, all the small details inside and out are so well thought out. We felt so spoilt staying here. We will definitely be recommending Singdean to all our friends who crave a night away from their kids! We only came from Jedburgh but if feels like we are miles and miles away from everything. So relaxing. Would love to come back in the Summer months and enjoy an evening by the fire pit.

We will be sorry to leave Singdean and our happy snowman 'Burt' behind. Feel so refreshed!

K and A. February


Peaceful, cleansing and most definitely 'Gemuetlich'. Thank you for your sincere hospitality and for sharing this gem of a space with us. Sadly we didn't experience the clear skies we had hoped for but perhaps this is an incentive to return! : ) The sauna and hot tub are a welcome extension of a tasteful and well thought out home away from home. We appreciate your attention to detail. Many Many thanks and continued success in your progress.

K and T. February


One wouldn't expect to find paradise in the Scottish Borders in the beginning of February but that is exactly what you've created! Highlights included birdsong with our morning coffee followed by a fresh delicious breakfast and snowfall in the hottub! Thank you for a wonderful few days. Until next time...

M and D. February


We've had such a relaxing and rejuvenating nights stay. My favourite place - the natural beauty and the beauty you have created. Just perfect for mind, body and soul. Thank you both so much.

K and A. February


Thank you for another wonderful stay at your magical place. You really have created something special - the setting, the decor, the scent, the food, your hospitality - every last detail is just perfect. No doubt we'll see you again next year!

F and P. January


Our first visit and we have already booked for the second. We feel as if we have been here for months. Completely relaxed, taking life as it comes. Whatever the weather, the views are breathtaking and we have watched the mists roll in and then disappear in moments. It has been lovely being 'off grid' and very tempting to barricade ourselves in and stay : )

The hot tub and sauna and a revelation, we never thought that we would be tempted to go outside with little more than a bath robe and slippers on, as we watched the frost creeping up but sitting in the warmth of the hot tub gazing at the stars made us wonder why we don't do it all the time. Thank you Christa and Del, see you again soon

T and M, Cumbria. January


Wow - what can we say! Singdean is absolutely incredible. The most amazing romantic place we have ever stayed in. Singdean was recommended by some friends and what a fabulous recommendation. Everything from the location, the friendliness of Christa and Del, to the superb attention to detail. When breakfast arrived this morning, it was as though Santa had just arrived - secretive, yet perfect in every possible way. The only downside is that we have to leave. However, we will definitely be returning and definitely be recommending Singdean to all that we know. Huge huge thanks

H and J, Newcastle. January


What a special place! The attention to detail here is unlike any I've seen - the robes, the clogs, the freshly pressed apple juice, the smells. the setting is very picturesque and romantic - we woke up to frost, birds feeding outside and the sun streaming in. the bed was so comfortable and it was lovely and dark, resulting in a fantastic nights sleep.

Christa and Del are fantastic hosts, nothing seemed too much trouble. I will remember for a long time sitting in the hot tub with a glass of champagne under an incredible sky full of stars.

I will absolutely recommend Singdean, thank you so much for some very special memories.

T and J. January


Our 3rd visit here at Singdean and is still as breathtaking as the first time we came. Every time we come things are being added and it's lovely to see it develop. Can't wait to see the next development, and I'm sure it will be fab, we say just do it!!

Del and Christa, what can I say - fabulous hosts as always. Coco the dog has loved her stay here and can't wait to come back for more fussing.

G and H. January 


This is our 4th visit to Singdean and it has confirmed that it is one of our favourite getaways! We have now visited in all four seasons and have decided Autumn and Winter are our favourites. Cold dark nights for the hot tub and sauna followed by bright crisp mornings for walks. It's lovely to see all the changes. The pond now looks like it's always been part of the landscape. All the local wildlife seen to enjoy it - including Mr Heron! (perhaps he enjoys it a little too much!) We love the peace and tranquility up here and will be back again in a few months for some more time out. Christa and Del, thank you for being such fantastic hosts as always.

C and C. January


Wow, where do we start? This is our friends (and not the last) visit to Singdean, a very thoughtful gift from our friends. We felt relaxed as soon as we pulled into Singdean, the views were breathtaking. Christa and Del were very welcoming and instantly made us feel at ease. The room is unreal and smells amazing. The sauna and hot tub were a perfect end to a perfect day! 

We woke up after the best sleep we have had in a very long time to a breakfast that had been put together with so much thought and attention and ever so lovely.

Thank you, everything you do here is just perfect. we will be back.

R and L, Darlington. January


Absolute bliss! have never felt so relaxed and refreshed. from the wonderfully warm and welcoming nature of Christa and Del to the soothing aroma of when you enter such a tasteful and calming abode, everything was superb and hopefully we can have the pleasure of experiencing it all again in the near future. Many thanks indeed for your hospitality.

V and M, Billingham. January


Amazing!! This was our second trip down here and it was just as magical as the first. Everything is just perfect. This break away from reality was exactly what we both needed, we now feel refreshed and ready for 2017.

Christa and Del - thank you for being such lovely hosts, nothing is too much trouble for you. Already planning our 3rd trip. We wish you both all the best for 2017.

J and T, Easy Lothian. January


© SINGDEAN 2018